Certification

Hutchinson Community College and Kansas Department of Health and Environment require that students pass with minimum accuracy which may vary by instructor. Class and clinical attendance is regulated by state law. Completion of all assignments in a timely manner, written and verbal reports, exams and clinicals is required.


CNAs, CMAs, and HHAs must pass a State of Kansas exam to receive certification. The CNA and HHA must pass the State of Kansas certification exam with 75% accuracy.  The CMA State of Kansas certification exam has an overall passing of 70%.  The CMA Update is required by KDHE to complete minimum of 10 hours for re-certification  HCC provides 15 hours. Phlebotomy students who successfully complete the course are eligible to sit for the Registry Exam with the ASCP, if desired.